The Dr APJ Abdul Kalam HPC Awards are meant to recognize outstanding contributions in the field of High-Performance Computing work carried in India. This is an annual event entering into fifth year.


Awardees of 2020

Awardees of 2019

Researcher Category:

Dr. A Suryachandra Rao,IITM, Pune.
"for his contribution to coupled ocean atmosphere models for operational/experimental seasonal forecasts and Petascale HPC facility management.

Prof. Gopalan Rajaraman,IIT, Bombay.
"for his contribution to model smart magnetic materials using hpc tools.

Dr. Parthasarathi Ramakrishnan,CSIR-IITR, Lucknow.
"for his contribution in applied computational bioscience to understand the structure and reactivity of biomolecular assemblies.

HPC Lead Members,C-DAC, Pune.
"for their contribution to Indian HPC ecosystem.

Young Researcher Category:

Prof. Prateek Sharma,IISc, Bangalore.
"for his contribution to hydrodynamic and magnetohydrodynamic simulations of astrophysical flows.

Dr. Samriddhi Sankar Ray,ICTS-TIFR, Bangalore.
"for his contributions using numerical simulations, in understanding turbulence and turbulent transport from the point of view of statistical physics.

rof. Uday Kumar Reddy B,IISc, Bangalore.
"for his contributions to automatic parallelization and optimizations of general purpose and domain specific applications using the polyhedral compiler framework.

Awardees of 2018

Researcher Category:

Prof. Rajiv Gavai, TIFR, Mumbai
" for his contribution to Lattice Quantum Chromodynamics at finite temperature and density"

Prof. Mahendra Kumar Verma, IIT Kanpur
"for his contribution in development of open-source code TARANG and using it for turbulence simulation at extreme scales"

Prof. Tanusri Saha Dasgupta, SN Bose, Kolkata
"for her contribution to Materials Computing & Thematic Unit of Excellence on Computational Materials Science"

Prof. Raghavan B Sunoj, IIT Bombay
"for his contribution in efficient HPC Facility Design and Management"

Young Researcher Category:

Dr. Rupesh Krantikumar Narse, IIT Madras
"for his contribution towards scaling parallel graph algorithms"

Awardees of 2017

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Prof. UN Sinha, Former Director, NAL, Bangalore
“for his contributions to High-Performance-Computing”

Researcher Category:

Prof. Sanjay Mittal, IIT Kanpur
“for his contributions to Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD)”

Prof. Sourendu Gupta, TIFR Mumbai
“for his contributions to the Quantum Field Theory, making progress in discovering the phase diagram of QCD at finite temperature and density”

Prof. Balakrishnan Narayanarao, IISc Bangalore
“for his contributions in developing highly scalable general purpose CFD tool “High resolution Flow solver on Unstructured meshes (HiFUN)” for wide ranging aerodynamic applications on HPC platforms”

Young Researcher Category:

Dr. Shravan M Hanasoge, TIFR Mumbai
“for his contributions to helioseismology using High-Performance Computing”

Dr. V Krishna Nandivada, IIT Madras
“for his contributions to design optimizations for task parallel languages”